Skip to main content


Showing posts from April, 2023

Rufio's Scott Sellers Returns with Fully Re-recorded Version of Mercy Street's Let Me Live Now Titled Scott Sellers' Mercy Street (The Witzard Interview)

Scott Sellers - "Remains" and "Now or Never" single covers (SOURCE: Bandcamp) Scott Sellers is likely best-known as the lead vocalist and rhythm guitarist for Rancho Cucamonga, California Pop-punk Rufio. Sellers has been active with Rufio in various incarnations with a cast of both primary and rotating members from 2000-07 when they broke up, but briefly reunited in 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2015. Rufio has been largely inactive since 2010 when they releasded their final album, Anybody Out There, which was followed by one last world tour. Sellers has been sporadically active over the years since Rufio's initial demise with a number of musical projects, including BigCity with former Rufio guitarist C lark Domae & Aaron Fernandez and Mercy Street with one-time Rufio bassist Taylor Albaugh. BigCity was initailly active in the early 2000's, but didn't share any official musical releases until The Quest for Power EP in 2021. Mercy Street shared a self-titl

DIVIDED HEAVEN Share Ukelele-assisted Cover of Cock Sparrer's "Because You're Young" with Mercy Union's Jared Hart (A-F Records)

DIVIDED HEAVEN & Jared Hart in Hoston, Texas 2019 (photographer unknown / SOURCE: Facebook) DIVIDED HEAVEN has teamed up with their old friend Jared Hart (Mercy Union, The Scandals) for an unconventional cover of "Because You're Young" by C*ck Sparrer . I'm sure most people would not associate ukulele with the highly-influential English Punk group, but Jeff & Jared have put their own twist on this cover that was produced by Tim van Doorn. "I've been fortunate enough to cross paths with Jeff for over a decade now. He was one of the very first people to convince me to get out of my comfort zone and hop in a car with just a couple of acoustic guitars. Ever since that first tour, I've learned to trust and appreciate his instincts." "We both spent a lot of time listening to and covering these songs and I'm glad we could take a stab at this one from our current perspectives. Any time Jeff needs a harmony, I'll be there," Har

Current & Former Members of Every Time I Die, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Norma Jean & Kid Gorgeous Form Better Lovers & Share "30 Under 13" Single (SharpTone Records)

Better Lovers (CREDIT: James Hartley) As you may recall, early 2022 ushered in the break-up of Buffalo, New York Metalcore/Hardcore Punk behemoth Every Time I Die (ETID.) In the media and across their various personal and band social media accounts, ETID's Jordan Buckley, Andy Williams, Stephen Micciche & Clayton Holyoak were seemingly pitted against one-time ETID frontman and Jordan's own brother, Keith Buckley. Buckley, Williams, Micciche & Holyoak appeared to all be working on a new project together (with a then-unannounced new singer) and Keith Buckley seemed to be cooking up something of his own. It seemed to be a messy legal dispute and an unfortunate demise for one of the sub-genres' greatest bands. Just yesterday, we got news of the sheer existence of one of those new post-ETID projects. Better Lovers, a newly-formed band featuring vocalist Greg Puciato, guitarists Jordan Buckley & Will Putney, drummer Clayton "Goose" Holyoak, and bassist

3 Feet High & Rising: New Jersey's Own BAYWAY Share "Cease II Exist" from Upcoming The Newport Sessions EP (DAZE/RTF Records)

BAYWAY posing with crossed baseball bats (CREDIT: Photography By Sean P @photosbyseanp) New Jersey is known for a lot of things—The Shore, Bruce Springsteen, Joe Pesci, and whatever Taylor Ham is—and has been home to Hardcore infused with Rap for quite sometime. Taking influence from predecessors, like E.Town Concrete & Fury of Five, BAYWAY bring their gritty and aggressive sound to the genre on their upcoming EP, The Newport Sessions, set for release April 20, 2023 on DAZE & RTF Records. BAYWAY's current line-up consists of vocalist Jay Way, guitarist Chris, bassist Dan, and drummer Dave. BAYWAY (oftentimes, known as BAYWAY NJ) burst onto the Jersey Hardcore scene in 2022 with their impactful five-track World of Bayway EP released on limited edition gold foil cassette tape and digitally on Ride The Fury/RTF Records. The Newport Sessions by Bayway Completely produced, mixed, and mastered by the band in Jay Way's studio, the EP features a classic skit-style intro

Bowling for Soup Release New Covers Album Don't Mind If We Do! Boasting Cover of Patent Pending's "Hey Mario" & 8bit Animated Music Video (Brando/Que-So Records)

Bowling for Soup "Hey Mario" music video still (SOURCE: YouTube) "We are so sad to announce that Chris Burney, founding member of Bowling for Soup, will be leaving the band and will be joining long-time friends Simple Plan as touring bass player. "I really like Canadians, I always have, and bass has less strings... I'm not getting any younger, so I am excited to have an easier job," Chris Burney. "We will miss him so much. We almost made it to 30 years. I certainly wish he and the Simple Plan guys well," Jaret Reddick. It is unclear whether we will replace Chris or carry on as a three-piece. Thank for you understanding," Bowling for Soup (B.F.S.) posted across their social media pages over the weekend. Thankfully, it ended up being... an April Fools' Day prank! B.F.S.' next major band update was a bit more optimistic and plentiful, reading: Surprise! Releases TOMORROW! We put a bunch of the covers we've done in the last few year

Eric Michael Schauffele Discusses "LimonCello Fellow" Music Video, Upcoming Eerie Scene Report 12-inch & What's Next for Human Animal (The Witzard Interview)

Human Animal, yellow tint added with LunaPic (CREDIT: Brandon Oleksy) Human Animal is an Erie, Pennsylvania-based Hardcore Punk band consisting of Eric Michael Schauffele (E.M.S.,) Robert Williams (Bobby/Bob,) Ryan Zimmerman (Baby Boy,) Adam Salaga (Firefly,) and newest addition simply known as Kyle Bull. Amongst them, Human Animal's members have previously played, made, or recorded music with The A.K.A.'s, Anchor, Brother's Keeper/Sumthin' to Prove, Bushido Code, Deadhorse, Domestic War, Empty Promises, Jesus Wept, Phases, Pray for A Fallen Angel, Shockwave, Smoke & Mirrors, Stretch Arm Strong, Thick As Thieves, xDisciplex A.D., and xRepresentx. Human Animal seemingly formed within the early months of 2012 and unleashed a Black Flag reminiscent career-spanning, at that point, compilation called The First Four Winters in 2016. Their debut full-length release, False Realities, followed on E.M.S.' own Surprise Attack Records in 2020 and they've been sporadi