Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Shabazz Palaces Emcee Ishmael Butler & Oneohtrix Point Never Join Forces As 319 On Latest [adult swim] 2017 Singles Release "The Rapture" (Sub Pop/Warp Records)

"Oneohtrix Point Never (0PN) teams up with longtime inspiration and Spiritual Rap guru Ishmael Butler, The Palaceer of Shabazz Palaces/Digable Planets. Listen to new track "The Rapture," below," Warp Records wrote within a 26/09/2017-published press release. "0PN and Butler met and produced "The Rapture" on first meeting this Summer, creating the experiment of verses and spine-tingling dances of percussion. The track premieres as a unique addition to the [adult swim] singles club," it continued. "The Rapture" is actually credited to "319"—a newly-formed rapper-producer duo consisting of Ishamel "Butterfly" Butler AKA Palaceer Lazaro and Electronic producer Oneohtrix Point Never AKA Daniel Lopatin of Ford & Lopatin. It's been quite a busy year for both Butler and Lopatin with Shabazz Palaces releasing not one, but two full-length albums on the same July day, Quazarz: Born On a Gangster Star and Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines; 0PN composed the score for Joshua Safdie & Ben Safdie's critically-acclaimed Robert Pattinson-starring crime-drama Good Time, which already won the Soundtrack Award at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival.

319 isn't exactly the first time either party has collaborated with largely unsuspected artists: in addition to Shabazz Palaces, Ishamel Butler is part of Funk-tastic super-group WOKE along with Flying Lotus, Thundercat, and George Clinton, as well as visual artist collective Black Constellation... while Oneothix Point Never collaborated with Iggy & The Stooges frontman and "The Godfather of Punk" Iggy Pop for his chilling Good Time Original Motion Picture Soundtrack closer "The Pure & The Damned." I reached out to Palaceer Laz via email on a whim Wednesday afternoon, inquiring about "The Rapture" and a potential 319 album, to which he said: he and Dan Lopatin "plan to complete an album. As you can imagine, finding the time to do it is the only obstacle." [adult swim]'s 2017 singles series will run through year's end and will still feature 31 more stream-only submissions from the likes of Brian Eno, Colin Stetson, D∆WN, Dinosaur Jr. Flying Lotus, Jonwayne, Julian Casablancas + The Voidz, Knxwledge, Low End Theory—AKA Daddy Kev, Nobody, The Gaslamp Killer & D-Styles—Migos, Moor Mother, Run The Jewels, Thundercat, Washed Out, and Your Old Droog, amongst other participating artists. While we await next week's mystery single, the 22 previously-released 2017 [adult swim] singles (excluding #14 DOOM feat. Jay Electronica) are all currently available to stream online.

No comments:

Post a Comment