Skip to main content

FASTPLANTS Share "Grosso" B/W "Super Stoked" 7-inch In Tribute to Fallen Skateboarder Jeff Grosso (Not Like You Records & 'zine)

FASTPLANTS are a self-described "Chicago-land Skate Punk band hailing from Waukegan, Illinois. Their Bandcamp page fittingly explains, "we're into skateboarding and Punk Rock." FASTPLANTS' current line-up consists of life-long skateboarders and musicians Matt Anzelone (guitar/vocals,) Abe Linders (guitar/vocals,) Marc Harman (drums,) and Kevin Tabisz (bass.) Throughout 2017, FASTPLANTS released two full-lengths on Milwaukee-based Beer City Records, Spread The Stoke and Split L.P. with Scottish Crossover Thrash/Skate-core band Daniel Wax Off. Prior to said tandem full-lengths, FASTPLANTS self-released two EP's, fittingly titled EP01-02. in partnership with Moriarty Records between 2014-15. Now, FASTPLANTS have returned with a brand new 7-inch/digital single on a brand new label all in tribute/homage to one of their favorite skateboarders, Jeff Grosso, who, unfortunately, passed away this past March at the tender age of 51.

"Grosso" B/W "Super Stoked" 7-inch features newly re-recorded versions of "Grosso" from Split L.P. (2017) and "Super Stoked" from EP02. It appears as though the 2020 rendition of "Grosso" is, actually, FASTPLANTS' third time recording and releasing the track, as a similarly-named track, "Jeff Grosso," first appeared on EP01. way back in 2014. However, in any case, FASTPLANTS' "Grosso" B/W "Super Stoked" is now available to purchase directly from the band themselves or Not Like You Records & 'zine. There are (/were?) 500 copies pressed total: 100 white-colored vinyl copies being sold exclusively on Not Like You Records' and 400 on yellow vinyl. Additionally, there were a super-limited number of white label TEST PRESS 7-inch vinyl, which, we would assume has now completely sold out since the record's initial October 30th release.

"We're all old skateboarders and the whole point of the band is to impart our love of skateboarding and the culture that surrounds and emanates from it, while doing our part to be a dynamic part of that culture," FASTPLANTS' Matt Anzelone told us within an email. We're waiting here in the Northern Chicago suburbs for this all to end and once it does, we will be piling back into our trusty '88 Ford Econoline and get back out on the road where we belong," Anzelone continued. FASTPLANTS' "Grosso" 7-inch is still available in limited quantities from Not Like You Records' web-store or from FASTPLANTS' Bandcamp page in both physical and digital formats. 100% of the proceeds raised from the sale of FASTPLANTS' "Grosso" 7-inch will be donated directly to skateboard-related charities of the band's choosing.


Popular posts from this blog

Dj Cold Cut & DJ Dragon Smasher Mash-up Run The Jewels & Run-D.M.C. Classics On Run The DMC; Plus New RTJ4 Singles (Pig Food Records)

Honestly, at this point in time, Run The Jewels (RTJ) should require absolutely no introduction... but, just to be safe, here's a brief/obligatory introduction: RTJ consists of rapper/producer and Definitive "Def" Jux co-founder El-P and emcee and OutKast affiliate Killer Mike . Legend has it, El & Mike first met on the set of Mr. Muthaf**kin' eXquire's "The Last Huzzah" (Remix) music video shoot. Soon after, [adult swim] Senior Vice President/Creative Director Jason DeMarco—then, at Williams Street Records—connected Killer Mike with El-P , who would produce his phenomenal 2012 album, R.A.P. Music. Mike , additionally, appeared alongside El on his own 2012 Fat Possum Records album, Cancer 4 Cure, on stand-out track, "Tougher Colder Killer." R.A.P. Music & Cancer 4 Cure were released weeks apart, so fast friends Killer Mike & El-P decided to tour together behind their then-new albums. After the widespread success of said tou

Members of Refused, Minor Threat, The Faith & Girls Against Boys Join Forces to Form Fake Names & Share "Brick" Single (Epitaph Records)

Fake Names is a Punk/Hardcore super-group consisting of vocalist Dennis Lyxzén (Refused, INVSN, SAMURAI,) guitarist/vocalist Brian Baker (Minor Threat, Bad Religion, Dag Nasty,) second lead guitarist/vocalist Michael Hampton (Embrace, The Faith, S.O.A.) bassist Johnny Temple (Girls Against Boys, Soulside, New Wet Kojak,) and, sometimes, drummer Matt Schulz (SAVAK, Holy F*ck, Enon.) "I'm in a new band with some friends from elementary school(!) and a sharp-dressed revolutionary from Sweden," Brian Baker (@brianbakers) posted on Instagram Wednesday morning; of course, referring to Hampton, Temple, and Lyxzén, respectively. Again, it appears as though Schulz is a part-time members of Fake Names , having played live with the band in their early aughts, although, their newly-launched website adds, " Matt [Schulz] played the drums. No synthesizers," within, what appears to be, digital liner notes. Guitarists Brian Baker & Michael Hampton first started j

3 Feet High & Rising: American Ethos Return with Self-titled Full-length Debut Mastered By: Jack "Flaco" Shirley (Conditions Records)

CREDIT: Reid Haithcock American Ethos are a mysterious Punk/Hardcore band based out of New England. I, actually, heard about American Ethos through a recent post made by @simpsonsXcore on Instagram, wherein they re-created the cover for American Ethos' recent self-titled debut full-length. Primarily functioning as the long-time "solo" project of guitarist and frontman Daniel Lajoie, American Ethos has featured a rotating cast of players. First established in 2011, Lajoie's American Ethos released a 3-track Demo Twenty Eleven, followed by a 2015 EP entitled Cosmetics​, and yet another EP in 2018 called Futurism. Last year, right before year's end on December 26th, American Ethos returned once more with their self-titled 12-track debut full-length on Texas-based Conditions Records. For this album, Daniel Lajoie has recruited drummer Mike Moschetto and Ryan Stack, who plays organ on "mulligan" and some guitar licks on "the killing chair" & &