Skip to main content

Foo Fighters Debut New Single "Shame Shame" On SNL & Announce Tenth Album Medicine At Midnight (Roswell/RCA Records)

We've been eharing rumblings for quite some time now and this past weekend, Foo Fighters officially announced their tenth studio album, Medicine At Midnight. Leading up to their performance this past weekend on Saturday Night Live (SNL) Foo Fighters have been sending out weekly emails to their fan club breaking down/re-visiting their nine studio albums, labeled LPI-LPIX. Then, immediately prior to their SNL performance, Foo Fighters uploaded a number of myserious clips zoomed in our the band members' eyes, along with an unlabelled 30-second musical soundbite hashtagged "#LPX." During (actually, prior to) their first performance on SNL this past Saturday evening into Sunday morning, we recieved a press email concerning Foo Fighters' new single, "Shame Shame," and aforementioned LPX, now officially dubbed Medicine At Midnight.

"Ladies and gentlemen, Foo Fighters..." host Dave Chappelle proclaimed, cool as a cucucumber, and Foo Fighters launched into their first proper performance of their latest single, "Shame Shame," broadcast across The Nation on live TV. Earlier this year, frontman Dave Grohl had described what we now know as Medicine At Midnight as "filled with anthemic, huge, sing-along Rock songs. It's kind of like a Dance record, but not an EDM, Disco, Modern Dance record. It's got groove." "To me, it's our David Bowie's Let's Dance record. That's what we wanted to make, we wanted to make this really up, fun record," Grohl further ellaborated. It's a bit hard to judge the whoele record primarily based off the lead single, but "Shame Shame" does, in fact, have that effortlessly cool, laid-back vibe exuded across Bowie's 1983 Nile Rodgers-produced Stevie Ray Vaughn-assisted Let's Dance.

Long-time drummer Taylor Hawkins, additionally, described Medicine At Midnight as being a bit more "Pop-oriented" than Foo Fighters' previous releases and mentioned the use of a drum loop throughout, as well as a 25-year-old guitar riff from Grohl. For their second performance of the night, Foo Fighters returned with a slightly altered version of "Times Like These" from ONE BY ONE (2002.) It starts out a bit more slow and ethereal and gradually morphs into the version we all know and love. Fresh on the heels of President-Elect Joe Biden & Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris' victory earlier in the day, "Times Like These" was a phenomal choice for such a celebratory, historial, and now-iconic day in American History. According to a press release, Medicine At Midnight was produced by Greg Kurstin & Foo Fighters, engineered by Darrell Thorp, and mixed by Mark "Spike" Stent.

It packs a punchy, presumably groove-laden, nine songs "into a tight-a** 37 minutes." Kurstin previosuly worked with The Foos on their critically-acclaimed 2017 album, Concrete & Gold, bringing esteemed artists such as Justin Timberlake, Alison Mosshart (The Dead Weather,) Sir Paul McCartney, Boyz II Men vocalist Shawn Stockman, and Inara George (the bird and the bee) into the fold. Foo Fighters' "Shame Shame" is now available on digital streaming services and you can re-watch their SNL performances within this very feature. We've, also, included Dave Chappelle's incredibly poignant 16-minute monolog within this very feature, for good measure, as well. So, if you haven't seen ANY of the aforementiond footage yet, now, you have no excuse whatsoever! Medicine At Midnight is currently available for pre-order an will see a wide release on 2/5/2021 on Roswell/RCA Records.


Popular posts from this blog

Dj Cold Cut & DJ Dragon Smasher Mash-up Run The Jewels & Run-D.M.C. Classics On Run The DMC; Plus New RTJ4 Singles (Pig Food Records)

Honestly, at this point in time, Run The Jewels (RTJ) should require absolutely no introduction... but, just to be safe, here's a brief/obligatory introduction: RTJ consists of rapper/producer and Definitive "Def" Jux co-founder El-P and emcee and OutKast affiliate Killer Mike . Legend has it, El & Mike first met on the set of Mr. Muthaf**kin' eXquire's "The Last Huzzah" (Remix) music video shoot. Soon after, [adult swim] Senior Vice President/Creative Director Jason DeMarco—then, at Williams Street Records—connected Killer Mike with El-P , who would produce his phenomenal 2012 album, R.A.P. Music. Mike , additionally, appeared alongside El on his own 2012 Fat Possum Records album, Cancer 4 Cure, on stand-out track, "Tougher Colder Killer." R.A.P. Music & Cancer 4 Cure were released weeks apart, so fast friends Killer Mike & El-P decided to tour together behind their then-new albums. After the widespread success of said tou

Members of Refused, Minor Threat, The Faith & Girls Against Boys Join Forces to Form Fake Names & Share "Brick" Single (Epitaph Records)

Fake Names is a Punk/Hardcore super-group consisting of vocalist Dennis Lyxzén (Refused, INVSN, SAMURAI,) guitarist/vocalist Brian Baker (Minor Threat, Bad Religion, Dag Nasty,) second lead guitarist/vocalist Michael Hampton (Embrace, The Faith, S.O.A.) bassist Johnny Temple (Girls Against Boys, Soulside, New Wet Kojak,) and, sometimes, drummer Matt Schulz (SAVAK, Holy F*ck, Enon.) "I'm in a new band with some friends from elementary school(!) and a sharp-dressed revolutionary from Sweden," Brian Baker (@brianbakers) posted on Instagram Wednesday morning; of course, referring to Hampton, Temple, and Lyxzén, respectively. Again, it appears as though Schulz is a part-time members of Fake Names , having played live with the band in their early aughts, although, their newly-launched website adds, " Matt [Schulz] played the drums. No synthesizers," within, what appears to be, digital liner notes. Guitarists Brian Baker & Michael Hampton first started j

3 Feet High & Rising: American Ethos Return with Self-titled Full-length Debut Mastered By: Jack "Flaco" Shirley (Conditions Records)

CREDIT: Reid Haithcock American Ethos are a mysterious Punk/Hardcore band based out of New England. I, actually, heard about American Ethos through a recent post made by @simpsonsXcore on Instagram, wherein they re-created the cover for American Ethos' recent self-titled debut full-length. Primarily functioning as the long-time "solo" project of guitarist and frontman Daniel Lajoie, American Ethos has featured a rotating cast of players. First established in 2011, Lajoie's American Ethos released a 3-track Demo Twenty Eleven, followed by a 2015 EP entitled Cosmetics​, and yet another EP in 2018 called Futurism. Last year, right before year's end on December 26th, American Ethos returned once more with their self-titled 12-track debut full-length on Texas-based Conditions Records. For this album, Daniel Lajoie has recruited drummer Mike Moschetto and Ryan Stack, who plays organ on "mulligan" and some guitar licks on "the killing chair" & &